Go walk your Camino

I recently came back from the Camino de Santiago de Compostela, it was a blast.

It is the best thing I could have done at this point of my life. I’m gonna write more in details later on what the experience brought me concretely and specific moments which made me realize many things, but for now I’ll just describe the overall experience, trying not to keep it too long.

After some tough months in France, I came home from University. I had basically nothing to do, and I was trying to change my life. Maybe not change it completely, but I felt like I had to give a meaning to it, a new one. One morning I just woke up and I decided, I was going to leave for the Camino. Like this, it came up to my mind, a fulgoration as one may describe it. It was, indeed.

Two weeks later I was leaving for real and I couldn’t even believe it.

IMG_20160706_093744I walked about 400 km, on my own. I had never done something like that before and the sensations were incredible, almost impossible to explain.

Above all, freedom was what I enjoyed the most. I could do whatever I wanted to, whenever I felt like doing it. Great feeling.

Day after day, I grew confidence in myself. Till then, I had always asked myself if I could have stood on my own legs alone, without anyone else. There, I was finally answering myself. Yes, you can. Of course you can. You and only you are what you need in your life, no one else is. The best sensation ever.

Thinking back to the past few months, I was realizing once for all that everything was fine as it was, and that I was having the time of my life.

 

No matter what I had been through, no matter of how many mistakes I had made, no matter how many people left my path right when I was needing them the most. No matter of all this, I was strong now, and I could walk miles, alone with only a rucksack, and who cares about blisters all over my feet.

And I think this is what you should be able to feel in life.

Song suggested : Hall of fame – The Script

Leave a Reply

